The Wilhelm Bernhard Medal was established to honour long-term significant achievements in the field of the cell nucleus, and contributions to the ideas and aims of the W.B. Workshops. Following distinguished scientists have received the Medal:

1987 Oscar Miller
1989 Harris Bush
1991 Werner W. Franke
1993 Masami Muamatsu
1995 Karel Smetana
1999 Thoru Pederson
2001 Eliza Izaurralde
2003 Stan Fakan
2005 Bertil Daneholt
2007 Joseph G. Gall
2009 William T. Garrard
2011 Klaus Scherrer
2013 Tom Misteli
2015 Marion and Thomas Cremer
2017 Gisèle Bonne
2019 Ronald Hancock